Teen Reading and Social Media

Featured image by Sean MacEntee.

I enjoyed going through the best literary hashtags on twitter blog. I recognized a few of the hashtags, but a few I did not remember seeing. I liked going through the hashtags on twitter, and seeing so many people discussing literature. Anyone who says reading is a lost art simply has to look at these hashtags to see that literature is still a major part of people’s lives. I liked the writing prompt hashtag because writers who are struggling can get ideas from an entire twittersphere to get them back on track. There was a hashtag going around a few months ago that I found very interesting: #sixwordstory or maybe #sixwordshortstory (I’m not sure). I loved reading all the create six word stories from people around the world. Twitter and other social media sites allow us to engage in discussion about literature with experts, other lovers of the books, and the author of the book!

While researching social media and teen reading, I found that teens use many social media sites for their own literary purposes. Pinterest has many (MANY!) boards about books and literature. There are want-to- read boards, book discussion boards, and writing prompt boards. Facebook allows the user to see posts from the author, message the author, and share one’s own thoughts about a book. Twitter has many literary hashtags the prompt a discussion of literature, and allows the user to connect with other readers and the author. WordPress is used to blog about books, and can easily be used in an English classroom to respond to books. Teens use social media to discover books that they want to read, engage in discussion about literature, and share their thoughts on books. There are both pros and cons to using social media in the classroom. Social media can create many distractions, but it can also make learning easier. It all depends on the way that the teacher approaches social media. Social media should be used in the classroom as a learning tool, and should be monitored for distractions and inappropriate behavior.

4 thoughts on “Teen Reading and Social Media

  1. I think it’s very difficult for teens to know how they could leverage social media for learning if we don’t model that and introduce students to places and ways they could learn. I definitely need to spend more time exploring literary Twitter!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have use a “Twitter Board” in my classroom to help students condense their learning into 140 characters or less with a hashtag. I don’t post online yet, it is just a plastic Twitter board hanging on my wall, but great practice to using Twitter for educational purposes, not just gossip. We usually tweet about what we learned that lesson and hashtag a special answer to question or “title” of our selection. Pinterest is also a great resource for literary ideas! So much to choose from! Sometimes I become overwhelmed with the wealth of knowledge available, I have to do small searches so I don’t overload my brain with ideas. 🙂

    Like

  3. Until this week, I haven’t ever thought about using Pinterest as a site for literature. How weird is it that you can plan for your future wedding and find literary ideas on the same website? 😉 I’m excited to look even more into it now! I couldn’t agree more that social media is an important learning skill for students. My old high school blocked access to every social media site (including YouTube), so I never used them for academic purposes until college. Crazy how useful they can be! Great post, Marqui!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

