Reader’s Bill of Rights

I really enjoyed reading Kiera Parrott’s “A (Reluctant) Reader’s Bill of Rights.” I felt for so long that if I was going to begin a book that I had to finish that book, even if I did not like it. I found myself not wanting to read because I did not like the books I would check out. I still refused to move on to another book before I finished the book I had. Eventually, I came to realize that it does not matter if I do not finish every book, especially if I do not like that book.

I also enjoyed “I have a right to reread.” I read the entire Harry Potter series three times while in high school, and my librarian would always say the same thing: ‘This, again? Why don’t you read books you haven’t read?” We should encourage children to read and reread the books they like to read. Reading a beloved book for the second time can reveal many portions of the story that one missed while reading it the first time.

I seems that, in high school, students do not get these rights. More than one in class, I was told to put away my book, that I could read later. Students also are not allowed to read books at their own pace, since teachers always set deadlines and due dates. If a student reads out loud, then he is distracting other students. If a student does not like or finish a book, then they are seen as lazy. If a student does not like or read the books they are assigned, then they are given a bad grade. Teachers should respect students need to read books they like and students need to read at their own pace.

If I could add one thing to this bill of rights for readers it would be: I have the right to read more than one book at a time. I thought that if I read more than one book at a time that the stories would blend together and that I would not get the full experience from either book. I have come to learn though that it is very easy to separate the stories in my mind. I also came to learn that reading two books at once helps when I become tiresome of one story but still want to read.

 

2 thoughts on “Reader’s Bill of Rights

  1. I still have a hard time giving myself permission to quit a book. I understand that I can, but I always feel a responsibility to finish it. I’ve found that during different times in my life I am pulled to different types of books. Sometimes, like right now, I have a hard time following heavy historical information.

    Like

  2. Yes to reading more than one book at a time! I ALWAYS read multiple books. Always. It’s natural and normal to me. It’s how I’ve raised my son as a reader too. I was really taken aback at the beginning of this school year when he wanted to read one book in his Reading class and a different book in his English class, and his Reading teacher told him he couldn’t because he wouldn’t be able to keep the stories and characters straight. WHAT?! Says who?? I had to fire off a couple of emails to the teacher to protect his reading rights!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

