Attention Log

Monday, July 20th:

What I logged on to do:

-Go over assignment sheets in ENG 361 class.

-Look through assignment for ENG 346 class.

Description of space and device:

I am sitting at my couch with my laptop on my lap while my boyfriend                        plays golf on his xbox on one T.V. and watches Bob’s Burgers on the                            other T.V. (yes, we have two T.V.s). My phone is on the charger across                        the room, so I cannot reach it.

Duration of internet session:

About 2 hours.

What occurred while I was online:

I spent about 20 minutes reading through the assignment sheets for my                  ENG 361 class while occasionally looking up to watch T.V. I took some                          time to look through the links for the assignments…..and I got distracted                   by TedTalks, of course, so I spent a while watching some awesome                              TedTalks. Getting back on task, I took about an hour to look through my                    ENG 346 class’s discussion forums and replying to comments on my                            forums. I finished my homework by writing this log entry. After I finished                my homework, I looked through my emails and on Yahoo at the news.

Keeping my phone away from where I was working on my homework really helped me not to get distracted by the notifications that come from my social media sites. I realized after writing this log that I spend too much time watching T.V. instead of applying my full focus to my homework. I was pretty well on task today, I think, and it did not take me long to do the things I needed to do.

Tuesday, July 21st:

What I logged on to do:

-Look through my emails.

-Read a pdf for my ENG 346 class.

Description of space:

This section may be repetitive since I usually get on my computer in the                    same place. I am, again, sitting on my couch with my laptop on my lap.                      My T.V. is on again, but this time it is turned down. My phone is                                    plugged into my computer, charging.

Duration of internet session:

About 45 minutes.

What occurred while I was online:

I spent a while looking through Facebook when I first logged on. Then, I                    took some time to look through my emails. Finally, I read the pdf I was                      suppose to read. However, about half way through reading my                                      Facebook sent me a notification and I got lost in the sea of Facebook for                      a while until I snapped myself back into focus.

Having my phone near me while I did homework today was not a good idea, because I wasted some time responding to texts that did not need to be immediately responding to instead of working on my homework. Opening Facebook right away also was not a good idea, especially since I left it open and it distracted me while I was reading. I could have got my homework done in a lot less time if I would have logged on and done what I needed without taking time to text or use Facebook.

Wednesday, July 22nd:

What I logged on to do:

-I got on my phone to check out social media sites and look at funny                               picture on the internet (don’t lie, you do this sometimes).

Description of space:

I was at work, sitting at the front counter (do not worry, there was no                          one in the store and I was on break….for part of the time) and looking                        at my phone.

Duration of internet session:

Probably like 30 minutes or so.

What occurred while I was online:

-I looked through the features on iFunny.

-I scrolled through Facebook for a long time.

-I checked out Instagram for while (I do not follow too many people so                           this only takes me like 5 minutes).

Since I did not get online today to do anything productive, I was not                 distracted by social media but online for the sole purpose of social media. I   realized that I get on my phone to look at social media a lot just to try to kill    the boredom while I am at work…instead of trying to work hard to make the time go by. I felt bad after this session and quickly went and worked super hard for the rest of the day.

Thursday, July 23rd:

What I logged on to do:

-Read the rest of the material for my ENG 346 class.

-Write in my ENG 346 class’s discussion forum.

Description of space:

On the couch, T.V. on, phone across the room charging…pretty much                          the same as usual.

Duration of internet session:

About 4 hours.

What occurred while I was online:

I spent three hours reading all the material for my ENG 346 class’s                             assignment (it’s a lot of reading), and I spent the remaining hour                                  writing about the reading I just did. Finishing my session by writing                            this log entry.

On Thursdays, I really have to crack down on my assignments for this summer class. When I get online on Thursdays, it is for one thing and one thing only: homework. I feel good about the time I spent on the internet; it was really productive.

Friday, July 24th:

What I logged on to do:

-Spend some time working on my Independent Learning Project.

Description of space:

Sitting on my bed with my laptop on my lap. The T.V. is on and my                              phone is on the end table by the bed.

Duration of internet session:

About 20 minutes.

What occurred while I was online:

I spent a long time going from website to website with digital art                                 creators without ever sticking to one thing and creating something. I                          checked my phone many times and wasted about 10 minutes on                                     youtube.

I was not very productive with the internet today. I tried to get into my Independent Learning Project, but found myself getting distracted by everything instead of being productive. I have now decided that I need to go outside instead on being on my computer, so this log is the last thing I shall do online tonight.

Saturday, July 25th:

What I logged on to do:

-Independent Learning Project

Description of space:

Sitting on my couch, laptop on my lap, with the T.V. on and my phone                        across the room charging, again.

Duration of internet session:

About 5 hours.

What occurred while I was online:

I spent some time going through old photos to look for creative ways                            to photo-shop or illustrate on them. I made a few pictures on the                                  digital art creation sites I already know of (I only ended up liking one                          of them and I plan to post it on my website). I went through my                                       website trying to find errors. I spend some time trying to find                                         something big to do since it is the final week of the Independent                                    Learning Project, but eventually came to the conclusion that I do not                          need to quit posting stuff on my website just because the project                                  ended. I am writing this log, and then I plan to look through Facebook                        for a half hour and log out.

I stayed pretty focus on what I was working on, other than the few times I just got distracted by websites that were completely irrelevant to what I was working on. I feel good about getting some work done on my independent learning project.

Sunday, July 26th:

What I logged on to do:

-All of the assignments for ENG 361.

-Post Independent Learning Project stuff.

-Catch the world up on my daily creates.

-Post log.

Description of space:

Same as usual.

Duration of internet session:

It’s been 2 hours, so far, and I am still working. It will probably be like                      6 hours total.

What occurred while I was online:

So far, I have watched the assigned Tedtalk, read the assigned articles,                     and posted on my blog about internet mindfulness. I am doing this log                       right now (just going through the list), and then I plan on completing                         the rest of the assignment sheet. Then I will post about my daily                                   creates and my final week of my independent learning project. I have                         not been distracted so far, so I do not believe I will be.

Well, mostly, this log has taught me that I need to space my homework out over the week better instead of trying to do everything on Sunday. I am really focused today, since I have so much stuff to do. I have not been distracted by any technology. I feel good about my internet use for today.

Photo Credit: Steve Jurvetson.

Leave a Reply

