Independent Learning Project

I was pretty excited when I read about the independent learning project in the syllabus. I like being able to form my own assignment and use my creativity. I also have always wanted to learn more about computers and how to operate them easily.

For my independent learning project, I am planning on creating my own website to display digital art. I will have to learn 1.) how to create a website and 2.) how to create art digitally. I am still working out the specifics at this time, such as my website name and what kind of digital art I want to do. I am really interested in digital comics, like the comics found on theoatmeal.com and Cyanide and Happiness. Warning: the cyanide and happiness comics are not the most appropriate, so do not click on that link if you are offended easily. However, my comics would be very appropriate and I was thinking I could make them about my dog. I have a huge yellow lab named Olaf who is clumsy and cute. I believe chronicles of his every day through comics, as well as a link to some cute videos of him as well as my two cats, would be an awesome website. I think I would call it the Olaf logs.

I have always been interested in making art digitally. I can paint and draw, but I have not learned how to create art digitally. As a child, I always thought that the coolest job ever would be to animate Disney movies, because…that would be awesome. I think, maybe, with this project I can work myself up to creating animations from my art work or cartoons. However, I will be starting simply by making digital art that does not move.

I believe the most important thing I will learn from this independent learning project is how to build a website. Building my own website can come in handy in business, teaching, and advertising. It is important to learn how to manipulate the internet to fit our every day needs. People have even build livelihoods out of entertainment websites with comics!

This independent learning project will be a challenge for me, because I will have to learn how to do things on my own, with my own abilities. I know that their are websites upon websites designed to teach people how to run technology, but I have to be able to find websites that will teach me everything I need to know while also letting me be creative with my website and with my art. I hope it all goes well! Wish me luck!!

Featured image

Photo taken from Flickr, original photo credit to Daniel Carvalho.

16 thoughts on “Independent Learning Project

  1. WOW!! I am so impressed. This sounds like it will be a great way to share your art work with others. I am a little envious that you are so excited about the idea of coming up with your own assessment. I find it so daunting. There is so much to learn. How do I know what will benefit me the most? Good Luck with this. I hope you have fun with it.
    Lara

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I hope I can pull it off and make it look good. I’m mostly worried about trying to do too much and not working on my other class work! I’m sure you will find something you are passionate about learning. Just try to think of things you have never thought about learning or new experiences you have never thought about having! Good luck, I hope you find something you can have fun with like I did!

      Like

      1. What a neat idea for your independent learning project! I wish I had thought of it! Digital Art is a fast-growing industry in the United States. The skills you gain through this project will be very useful.

        Like

  2. I had to make a website for a class a year ago and I thought it would take a lot of time to learn how to do and be incredibly complicated. We learned it in a day, and it was actually pretty easy! So I hope that is somewhat of a relief to hear. This sounds like a fun project and I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    Like

  3. Sounds like a great project to undertake and a hefty one if you don’t know much about websites or digital design. If you don’t mind some tips check out http://www.w3schools.com/ for tips on how to create your website. The top points you’ll want is HTML, CSS, possibly HTML Graphics, and Web Building. Also, when looking for editing software don’t look for the most expensive as they might not have what you’re looking for. Before downloading any software, read the reviews to see if that is what you’re looking for, if the program has any downfalls that will hinder what you’re looking for, and if it is safe for download as some sites harbor virus friendly files meaning something you don’t want. A free program that does 3D rendering, animation, and many other great aspects is Blender. There are tutorial videos on how to run the program in YouTube as well which will help a lot. Best of luck in your project.

    Like

      1. No prob. If you have any other questions hit me up. Chances if I don’t know my gaming community will know. Have one fellow admin that is taking graphic design and others that know well how to edit pics and programs that are great for it.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I think you picked a really great independent learning project. It’s cool to see you challenging yourself to learn something completely new. Digital art is such an interesting field, and I’ve seen a lot of really cool things done with it. I’m excited to see what you do with it, and the artwork that you create!

    Like

Leave a Reply

